Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them Review!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

 

Fantastic Beasts took the movie world by storm. It took off like a hippogriff in flight. But I won’t say yet what I think of the movie, as I had not seen it yet. And this review is not about the movie anyway. This is a joint review of both the book and the screenplay. Yup, Rowling allowed another screenplay to be published, and I just don’t know how to feel about that.

I have to warn you right off the bat. I do not care much for reading plays and screenplays. They bore me. I like prose that had good descriptive narration and plays never have what I most love about reading a good tale. So I went into reading the FB screenplay with a bias against it. It was a tedious read, and I hope that would be the only time I would say that during this readathon. Still, some lines were funny, some were dramatic, and reading it made me want to watch the movie. So it did accomplish that much. And at least I did read it. Which is more than I will do with The Cursed Child. More on that, when it’s time comes.

Now for the book. The book for FB had been a favorite of mine for years now. I heard there is a new edition out, but seeing it was a bit of a disappointment at first. It seemed a trifle too clean, without the scribbles of the kids in it. They added so much to the amusement factor in the book. Still, without them, it’s like getting a clean copy for your very own years at Hogwarts. Imagine the roleplay potential! Have your own FB copy to mark up!

As to the book itself, well, it was written to be a textbook. It was a trifle dry and as a stand-alone book, would not really work. But as supplemental reading for the Harry Potter books, it is brilliant. You get to immerse yourself even more into the world of Harry Potter and Hogwarts. Again, so many roleplay possibilities. I think I will end up writing fanfiction from all this. Again, been warned. Serious, I got to get started on this. About my character’s years at Hogwart’s. An outsider’s look at the events of Harry Potter, most likely.

So to sum it up. The two FB’s read was a good start to this exciting readathon. And now we are getting deep in the first of the Harry Potter books, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Leave a Reply

