Book Review-Wuthering Heights

Book Review-Halftime report!

Wuthering Heights

 

I am currently halfway through Wuthering Heights By Emily Bronte. I will be honest here. I dreaded reading this book for months now. But I gritted my teeth and started to read. And was pleasantly surprised. It was not as bad as I feared. In fact, it is pretty good.

That is not to say that I think it’s great, or anything I will read often. But I was hit by two things so far. One, this is an incredibly dense body of writing. I mean, there is not a single wasted sentence so far in the whole thing. The plot is fairly simple to follow, but the characters are not so easy to follow. And there are a whole lot of them.

And speaking of characters, not all of them are easy to understand when they speak. A few of them speak with a really strong Yorkshire accent. I loved this part, it helps maintain an authentic feel of the story. That leads to two.

Two. For a story that feels so grounded in reality it somehow also takes on the feel of a soap opera. I can see why so many Victorians had a big problem with this novel. Also, as a side note, the reactions to Anne’s novel, printed in the same book as her sister’s, received so little notice. Wuthering Heights with all its passion and drama must have made her own Agnes Grey seem as exciting as a weather report by comparison.

How Emily managed to mix the fantastical gothic elements with this strangely gritty, realistic element. I find it kind of distracting, but in a really good way. I look forward to finishing this book. Now, if you excuse me, I got some reading to do!

Leave a Reply

